We use cookies to help us improve the website and your experience using it. You may delete and block all cookies from this site at any time. However, please note this may result in parts of the site no longer working correctly. If you continue without changing your settings we will assume you are happy to receive all cookies on this site.


Vaccine Evaluation Unit research

Meningococcal Groups A, C, Y and W135

This section is headed by Dr Helen Findlow

  • Serology for meningococcal serogroup A conjugate vaccines for Africa.
  • Evaluation of meningococcal tetravalent conjugate vaccines for serogroups A, C, Y and W.
  • Co-administration of different conjugate vaccines in infants and young children.
  • Clinical service for NHS and private laboratories.

Meningococcal Groups B

This section is headed by Dr Xilian Bai

  • Investigation of immunological effect of candidate meningococcal B vaccines in infants, young children and adolescents
  • Characterisation of the immune response to specific antigens in animal sera eg. murine sera, after challenged with an investigational vaccine
  • Clinical service for NHS and private laboratories.

Pneumococcal, Hib, Tetanus and Diphtheria serology

This section is headed by Dr Rachael Almond

  • Evaluation of pneumococcal polysaccharide-protein conjugate vaccines
  • Pneumococcal antibodies following vaccination in immunosuppressed individuals
  • Clinical service for quantification of pneumococcal, Haemophilus influenzae type b, tetanus and diphtheria for NHS and private laboratories.

Serum Archives Unit (including PHE Seroepidemiology Unit)

This section is headed by Dr Ezra Linley

  • Maintenance of the clinical serum specimen archive
  • Seroprevalence studies of vaccine preventable diseases
  • Serology for human papilloma virus

Enhanced Surveillance

This section is headed by Dr Lynne Newbold

  • Genotypic and phenotypic surveillance of novel meningococcal vaccine candidate antigens in England and Wales and in other countries globally

(Last reviewed March 21st 2018)