We use cookies to help us improve the website and your experience using it. You may delete and block all cookies from this site at any time. However, please note this may result in parts of the site no longer working correctly. If you continue without changing your settings we will assume you are happy to receive all cookies on this site.


Greater Manchester Clinical Research Awards 2013 – hat-trick for the Trust

CMFT collected an impressive three awards out of a possible twelve at this year's Greater Manchester Clinical Research Awards.

Last night's awards ceremony, which took place at Manchester's Radisson Hotel, was attended by research teams from across the region.

Dr Rick Body, Consultant in Emergency Medicine and Honorary Lecturer in Cardiovascular Medicine scooped the Principal Investigator of the Year gong.

Sarah Thorpe from Manchester Centre for Sexual Health collected the final award of the evening: Research Nurse of the Year.

CMFT was also named as the highest recruiting Trust in Greater Manchester, with Professor Colin Sibley, Head of Research and Innovation Division and Kathy Evans, Divisional Director, picking up the award.

Colin Sibley said "I'm delighted that our staff have been recognised for their capability and innovative approach to clinical research.  These awards affirm our position as a leading biomedical research centre.  Last year, we were number one in Manchester, and within the top five nationally, for recruitment into studies and we are in a strong position to further build on our success to date."

Clinical research awardsFull list of nominees on the night:

Most Innovative Recruitment Strategy of the Year

  • Kate Clayton, SRFT
  • The Kellgren Centre for Rheumatology, CMFT
  • Manchester Cancer Research Cancer Biobank, The Christie
  • The SRFT Neurology Team

Unsung Hero of the Year

  • Andy Stobirski, MHSC
  • Matthew Richardson, The Christie
  • Mike Porter, UHSM
  • Sally Smillie, The Christie
  • Terry Hinton and Aleksandra Staderska, PAT Pharmacy Department

Newcomer of the Year

  • Dipesh Patel, CMFT
  • Laura O'Brien-King, GMW
  • Linda Kent, PAT
  • Rachael Kirkham, PAT
  • Valerie Parkinson, WWL

Research Administrator of the Year

  • Kate Barugh, CMFT
  • Katie Doyle, PAT
  • Joanne Farnworth, WWL
  • Richard Firmstone, The Christie

Principal Investigator of the Year

  • Dr Christopher Cooper, Stockport
  • Prof Peter Trainer, The Christie
  • Dr Richard Body, CMFT
  • Simon Kelly, Bolton

Chief Investigator of the Year

  • Prof Ashley Woodcock, UHSM
  • Prof Christopher Griffiths, SRFT
  • Prof Juan Valle, The Christie
  • Dr Nicholas Webb, CMFT

Lifetime Achievement

  • Dr Ian Caldwell, GP
  • Jacqueline Routledge, The Christie
  • Prof Philip Wiles, PAT
  • Dr Philip Lewis, Stockport

Research Team of the Year

  • The Bolton FT Infant Study Team
  • The PAT Infectious Diseases Research Department
  • The PAT Paediatric Research Nurse Team
  • The TGH Diabetes Research Team
  • The WWL Trust Clinical Trials Team

Research Nurse of the Year

  • Diane Daniels, UHSM
  • Melanie Taylor, SRFT
  • Sarah Thorpe, CMFT
  • Simon Kaye, PAT