We use cookies to help us improve the website and your experience using it. You may delete and block all cookies from this site at any time. However, please note this may result in parts of the site no longer working correctly. If you continue without changing your settings we will assume you are happy to receive all cookies on this site.


Steering Committees

Steering Committees


All established UK NEQAS schemes are supported by advice from an appropriate UK NEQAS Steering Committee, accountable to the UK NEQAS Board. The Chairman is normally independent of UK NEQAS operational interests, and membership will include appropriate experts, participants and advisors. Chairmen and members are appointed by the UK NEQAS Board, on the advice of appropriate professionals, and sit in their own right and normally not as representatives of any professional or other group, though some may fulfil an invaluable liaison function with such groups. Steering Committees do not consider the performance of individual participating laboratories, except in advising on performance criteria or where this may indicate a failure in the operation of the Scheme (and even in such cases the laboratories will not be identifiable).


  1. To advise the Scheme Organiser(s) on the overall design and operation of the Scheme(s), including aspects such as:
  2. appropriateness of the investigations surveyed
  3. nature of the specimens distributed
  4. number and frequency of specimen distribution
  5. source of target values
  6. data analysis and performance assessment
  7. data presentation
  8. communication with participants, including meetings, newsletters, educational activities
  9. communication with the diagnostics industry
  10. research and development for the Scheme(s)
  11. in consultation with the Scheme Organiser, to liaise with the relevant National Quality Assurance Advisory Panel in setting performance criteria.
  12. to promote harmonisation, in scheme design and practice, with other UK NEQAS Schemes as appropriate.
  13. to consider, and advise the Scheme Organiser(s) on, the need for initiation or termination of EQA services for investigations in the area covered.
  14. to review Schemes' annual reports.
  15. to receive any representations, to Chairman, members or Organiser, from participants concerning the Schemes.
  16. to advise the UK NEQAS Board, and where appropriate other relevant organisations (e.g. Department of Health, Joint Working Group on Quality Assurance, CPA(UK)Ltd, Medical Devices Agency, Royal College of Pathologists), on any aspect of EQA or quality assurance in the area covered

There is a Steering Committee for both the Andrology and Embryology Schemes. They meet twice a year and approve changes in scheme design, including the introduction of new services and cessation of existing services. Their Chair and Deputy Chair are elected by the Steering Committee from its membership. Membership is as follows:

The Andrology Steering Committee (ASC)

Chair - Dr Allan Pacey

Senior Lecturer in Andrology, University of Sheffield.

Deputy Chair - Mrs Trudy Johnson

Chief Biomedical Scientist, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Gateshead.

NQAAP Liaison - Mrs Kathryn Howarth

Biomedical Scientist 2, Whiston Hospital, Merseyside.

Mrs Sue Kenworthy

Lead Biomedical Andrologist, Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust.

Mrs Janine Smith

Advanced Biomedical Scientist, Seacroft Hospital.

Mrs Denise Riddell

Fertility Manager, Hampshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.

Stephanie Brooks

Andrology Supervisor, Liverpool Womens NHS Foundation Trust.

Dr Raj Mathur

Clinical Lead, Department of Reproductive Medicine, St Marys Hospital, MFT.


The Embryology Steering Committee (ESC)

Chair & NQAAP liaison - Dr Rachel Gregoire

Consultant Embryologist, The Hewitt Fertility Centre, Liverpool Womens Hospital.

Deputy Chair - Mrs Ella Mair

Advanced Clinical Embryologist, Newcastle Fertility Centre at Life.

Dr Helen Clarke

Senior Clinical Embryologist, Assisted Conception Unit, Sheffield.

Su Barlow

Clinical Embryologist, Midland Fertility Services.

Dr Bryan Woodward

Senior Embryologist, IVF Consultancy Services.

Amy Barrie

Clinical Embryologist, IVI Cheshire, Liverpool.

Charlene Freeman

Embryologist, Leicester Fertility Centre.

Lucy Richardson

Senior Embryologist, Herts & Essex Fertility Centre.


Webpage updated Dec 2017.